Tucker Garcia

 

I am a 27 year old latinx transman from Massachusetts living in Portland, Or. I’m a writer and performer and have a deep love of food. I was raised in a predominately white community where sitting down for Puerto Rican food with my family was one of the few ties I had to my culture and history.

~

What will you be presenting on? I’d love to present on my relationship with my grandmother, whom I was named for at birth, and whom I have worked to rebuild my relationship with post transition. I would love to share one of her original recipes while taking the audience on a journey through love, fear, catharsis and reunion.

Best piece of advice you ever got about cooking: My tío told me once “don’t be afraid” to cook new things. It took me a little while to embrace his words, but now I love trying new dishes and discovering what flavors work and what don’t.

If you could only eat one meal forever, it would be: Vietnamese vermicelli bowl

Favorite food: Prenil a.k.a the crunchy bits of Puerto Rican pork roast

Recommended reading: The War Against All Puerto Ricans

Best meals: This feels like a bigger question than I know how to answer. I love home-cooked food, things that come from little hole in the wall restaurants and are based on tried and true family and recipes. I appreciate fine dining, but nothing makes me happier than a belly full of a lovingly prepared meal.

Food you’d like to try: I want to learn more about food from South American countries. Peruvian food is especially interesting to me.